WSCXVI VIENNA SAXOPHONIC ORCHESTRA The Sorcerer´s Aprentice by Paul Dukas

Vienna Saxophonic Orchestra
(21:30, Saturday 14 July, Byre Theatre)
Artistic Director & Conductor: Lars Mlekusch
Michael Krenn — Sopranino and Soprano Saxophones; Eberhard Reiter — Soprano Saxophone
Christian Lamm — Soprano and Alto Saxophone; Janez Ursej — Alto Saxophone
Miha Ferk — Alto Saxophone; Cornelia Högl — Alto Saxophone
Michaela Reingruber — Tenor Saxophone; Yukiko Iwata — Tenor Saxophone; Joel Diegert — Tenor Saxophone
Markus Holzer — Baritone Saxophone; Christian Maurer — Baritone Saxophone; Pieter Pellens — Bass Saxophone
Founded in 2009, the Vienna Saxophonic Orchestra is the first professional saxophone orchestra in Austria and one of a few in the world. Twelve saxophones, from sopranino to bass, merge into a colorful yet homogeneous sound which can be most subtle or extremely powerful. The VSO stands for exciting performances of contemporary music as well as surprisingly fresh interpretation of earlier music but always with the aim of performing at the highest possible artistic level. The collaboration with contemporary composers plays an important role in the working process. The VSO explores new sounds, unusual interpretations and is experimenting with new space situations. There are several award winners of major international competitions amongst the ensemble performers as well as other musicians who play with the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra and the Klangforum Wien. Lars Mlekusch, the Artistic Director, has established himself as an eminent saxophonist specialising in contemporary music. In 2005, he was appointed professor for saxophone, chamber music and contemporary music at the University of Viena Conservatory where he leads a highly successful international saxophone class. Mlekusch teaches masterclasses at many of the leading music institutions in the world and he has been on the jury at some of the most important saxophone competitions. He taught at the European Saxophone University in Gap (France) in 2011 and has been invited to return in 2012.

You may also like

Page 1 of 6

Related posts

Josip Nochta Competition JAN GRICAR Sarabanda Suite no2 by J S Bach


Maika Shimisu (Japan) – Lamento et Rondó by Pierre Sancan (Dinant 2019)


Jazz Video Guy 1: Sonny Rollins Is A Work-In-Progress



Adolphesax Editions