WSCXVI SAMPEN SHRUDE TRIO Within Silence by Marilyn Shrude

(13:00, Thursday 12 July, St Leonards Auditorium)
John Sampen — Saxophone; Maria Sampen — Violin; Marilyn Shrude — Piano
Individual members of the Sampen/Shrude Trio are well known for their international activity in the world of contemporary music. Saxophonist John Sampen is particularly recognized as a distinguished artist in contemporary literature with over one hundred commissioned works. A clinician for the Conn-Selmer Company, he has presented masterclasses at universities and conservatories throughout Europe, Asia and North America. Sampen is currently a Distinguished Artist Professor at Bowling Green State University and Past President of the North American Saxophone Alliance.
Composer Marilyn Shrude is known for her warm, lyrical music, highly linear and multi-layered with timbral contrasts that result in a bright, shimmering and delicately wrought sound world. Her prestigious honors include those from the American Academy, Rockefeller Foundation, Chamber Music America/ASCAP, National Endowment for the Arts, and a recent 2011 Guggenheim Fellowship. Shrude was the first woman to receive the Kennedy Center Friedheim Awards for Orchestral Music and the Cleveland Arts Prize for Music. Dr. Shrude is a Distinguished Professor at Bowling Green State University.
Violinist Maria Sampen is an exciting young soloist who has performed with orchestras throughout the United States and has appeared as a chamber musician in Europe, Asia and North America. Highlights include multiple performances of William Bolcom’s Violin Concerto in Michigan, Indiana, Illinois, Texas and Colorado; an all-Schoenberg program with Pierre Boulez and members of the Ensemble Intercontemporaine at Carnegie Hall; and serving as concertmaster/solo violinist for Bright Sheng’s opera in Singapore. Dr. Sampen is currently chair of the string department at the University of Puget Sound.

Posted on 31 de agosto de 2012

You may also like

Page 1 of 6

Related posts

Robert Muczynski Sonata For Alto Saxophone Op. 29 Mvt 1 Piano Accompaniment


Directions – Weather Report 1971


Roy Hargrove Meets the WDR Big Band



Adolphesax Editions