VII Concurso Internacional de Saxofón, Nova Gorica Arts Centre, Slovenia, 1 al 6 Julio 2013


Staff member
7th International Saxophone Competition, Nova Gorica Arts Centre, Slovenia, 1 to 6 July 2013


For the saxophonists born in 1983 and younger


Compulsory compositions:
Cesar Franck: Sonata in A Major - III. mvt. (any transcription)
Johannes Brahms: Sonata, Op. 120 no. 2 - I. mvt. (any transcription)
Lojze Lebič: Invocation / à Primož Ramovš (Sloway)

Semi-finals (maximum of 10 candidates)
Compulsory composition:
Peter Šavli: Visuddhi for alto saxophone solo and additional sounds (DSS)
One composition from the following list:
William Albright: Sonata (Peters)
Fernande Decruck: Sonate en Ut# (Billaudot)
Edison Denisov: Sonata (Leduc)
Alfred Desenclos: Prélude, Cadence et Finale (Leduc)
Jindřich Feld: Sonata (Leduc)
David Maslanka: Sonata (NASA)
Janez Matičič: Repliques (DSS)
Uroš Rojko: Godba (DSS)
Florent Schmitt: Légende, Op. 66 (Durand)
Nina Šenk: Impetus (DSS)
Antoine Tisné: Espaces irradiés (Choudens)

Finale (maximum of 5 candidates)
Solo with the RTV Slovenia Symphony Orchestra cunducred by En Shao:
- Henri Tomasi: Concerto (Leduc)
- Jacques Ibert: Concertino da Camera (Leduc)
- Pavel Šivic: Saxophone suite - III. and IV. mvt. (pdf soon)

Deadline for aplications: 30 April 2013

Rules for the participants:

1. Competitors must perform from original sheet music only. Photo-copies are not allowed.
2. Winners of the 1st prize of previous International Saxophone Competitions in Slovenia in the highest category (Krško 2001, Nova Gorica from 2003 to 2009) will not be allowed to participate.
3. An official accompanist is available to all the competitors.
4. Competitors must produce a valid ID document before the competition.
5. Competitors must prepare five copies of the (piano) score of the selected works.
6. The order of performance will be determined by a public draw prior to the competition.
7. The organiser retains all public recording and broadcasting rights, including the rights to publishing audio and/or video recordings.

Claude Delangle (F) – President;
Vincent David (F);
Nenad Firšt, composer (SLO);
Timothy McAllister (USA);
Joonatan Rautiola (FL);
En Shao, conductor (PRC);

Secretary of the Competition:
Dejan Prešiček

Piano Accompanists:
Zoltan Peter;
Lena Ostrołucka (PL/UA);
Michał Francuz (PL).

Prizes will be announced soon.

Participation fees for the competition:

Participation fee
100 EUR
One rehearsal (30 min) with the official accompanist 25 EUR

The desired number of rehearsals with the accompanist (maximum of three) must be indicated on the registration form.
We recommend that candidates are accompanied by their own accompanist.

The number of participants is limited. Places will be allocated according to the date of receipt of the completed registration form. The deadline for applications is Thursday, 30 April 2013 (date of post stamp). Places will be allocated according to the date of post stamp or received e-mail. In the case of participant cancellation, the organiser will retain 20% of the participation fee to cover administrative expenses.

Payment method:
Bank transfer to the Nova Gorica Arts Centre,
account number 01284 – 6030358603 at UJP (Public Payment Office), Nova Gorica Branch
IBAN: SI56012846030358603
Participants must cover any bank fees related to the transfer.

Please return the registration form by post to:
Kulturni dom Nova Gorica
Bevkov trg 4
SI 5000 Nova Gorica

Or by fax to:
+ 386 (0)5 335 40 19

Ob by e-mail:

Please attach to the registration form a copy of proof of payment of the deposit.

Participants are responsible for their own meals and accommodation. Recommended accommodation:

Streliška pot 7, 5000 Nova Gorica, Slovenia
(T +386 5 335 48 11, W &

Unit A (1/3 room with shared shower and bathroom facilities)
- bed and breakfast: 17 EUR
- half board: 20 EUR
- full board: 23 EUR

Unit B (1/2 room with bathroom)
- bed and breakfast: 23 EUR
- half board: 26 EUR
- full board: 29 EUR

Arts Center Nova Gorica
Nova Gorica Music School
Saksofonija Music Society

Jeunesses Musicales Slovenia
The RTV Slovenia Symphony Orchestra
Última edición: