WSCXVI TRACES Quartet Nº1 by Dionysos Papanicolaou

Traces is a new saxophone ensemble whose members are profoundly interested in the musical languages of today and the unexplored universes of contemporary chamber music. Their work focuses on artistic collaboration, the intersection of written and improvised music, and the sonorous possibilities of electronics within an instrumental ensemble in real time. For three years they have performed throughout France, presenting programs of the saxophone quartet’s modern repertoire (Lauba, Lévy, Tanada, Xanakis) as well as new works by promising young composers, residing in France, who are attracted to the great potential of such an ensemble. Traces desires to reach audiences in innovative ways through thematic programing which explores the rich and multiple aesthetics of the 20th and 21st century (Japan, the 2nd Viennese School, music and architecture, etc.). Traces participated notably in the Boulogne-Billancourt Regional Conservatory’s annual Contemporary Music Week in 2009 (Hommage à Gérard Grisey) and 2010 (Japon/Europe: regards croisés), collaborating with the conservatory’s modern dance class and the Japanese calligrapher Hachiro Kanno in a modern program of chamber music, solo music, and improvisation. Their future collaborations include projects with Olivier Sens, Guillaume Orti, and Dionysos Papanicolaou.

You may also like


Page 1 of 6

Related posts



3rd JMLISC: Yo Matsushita (Japan) Etude n.12 Xyl by C. Lauba


Intervista RaiNews 24 – Festa Europea della Musica.