Assembly Saxophone Quartet
(14:30, Saturday 14 July, All Saints)
Lauren Meccia — Soprano Saxophone; Ian Jeffress — Alto Saxophone
Matt Younglove — Tenor Saxophone; Adam Estes — Baritone Saxophone
The Assembly Saxophone Quartet is a professional chamber music ensemble whose mission is to further the education and enjoyment of music to people of all ages. Graduate students from the University of South Carolina founded this group in 2003, and their main objective as a professional chamber group is to be part of residencies where they venture into public schools and communities to work with students and share their performances. In 2011, they completed a week-long residency in Minot, North Dakota where they taught in four public schools, hosted a woodwinds masterclass at Minot State University, performed two recitals, and were featured soloists in Bob Mintzer’s “Rhythm of the Americas” concerto for saxophone quartet and orchestra with the Minot Symphony Orchestra.
Other notable events: French Impressionist Art/Music Collaboration with the Columbia Museum of Art in Columbia, SC, and an ETV Radio Broadcast for a Mozart Celebration. This versatile ensemble is at home performing anything from orchestral pops to the most cutting edge avant-garde; they have commissioned and premiered works by Sophocleous Charalambos, Peter Kay, and will premiere a new work by Simon Fink in 2012.

You may also like


Page 1 of 6

Related posts

Tenor Saxophonist Greg Vail with the Tony Guerrero Quartet at Steamers Jazz Club 2009


FISP – Scaramouche (Vif) (Jaime Estevez)


Dinant 2014 – WYSS Lisa (Prelude, Cadence et Finale by Alfred Desenclos)