Edvard Grieg – Violin Sonata No. 1, Op. 8 mvmt. 3

Grieg composed this sonata in the summer of 1865 while on holiday with Benjamin Feddersen in Rungsted, Denmark, near Copenhagen. The piece was composed shortly after his only piano sonata was completed that same summer.

Concerning the piece, Norwegian composer Gerhard Schjelderup commented: it is “the work of a youth who has seen only the sunny side of life.” Despite this, many sections of the work are quite dark and turbulent.

Kyle Mechmet, saxophone
Kuo-Pei Cheng-Lin, piano
Nov. 2021

You may also like

Page 1 of 241

Related posts

Sonny Rollins Meets Ornette Coleman on Road Shows, vol. 2


Dubester, Amit (Israel) 1st Round Part 1


????? ????? “10.09.2016. ???? ??????. ??????? “???????””


Leave a Comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.